h1

Congratulations to Ranulph Fiennes and his Everest conquest

May 23, 2009

Here’s another one for our extreme sports personalities – Ranulph Fiennes, or, more correctly, Sir Ranulph Twistleton-Wykeham-Fiennes – a British explorer extroadinaire and the holder of several endurance records. According to the Guinness Book of Records he is the greatest living adventurer.

Ranulph Fiennes

This is what this extroadinary man has accomplished in his 65 years:

  • 1969 Travels the length of the White Nile by hovercraft
  • 1970 Traverses Norway’s Jostedalsbreen Glacier
  • 1979 to 1982 Travels globe on its polar axis by land transport
  • 1992 Discovers lost city of Ubar
  • 1993 Attempts to cross the Antarctic unaided
  • 2000 On solo walk to North Pole his sleds fall through ice
  • 2003 Four months after double heart bypass, he does seven marathons in    seven days
  • 2005 Attempt on Everest ends when he has a heart attack
  • 2007 Climbs north face of Eiger
  • 2008 Exhaustion ends a second attempt on Everest
  • 2009 Reaches Everest summit

He attempted Everest 3 times. The first time, in 2005, he had a heart attack 300m from the summit. The second time he was forced back at 8,400 metres, suffering from exhaustion. Afterwards he declared: “I won’t be returning to Everest.”

But defeat is simply not in his vocabulary, and despite everything he set off again. Just before 1 a.m. Thursday, 21st May, he became the oldest Briton and first UK pensioner to climb the 8,850 metre peak.

It is hard to believe, after his conquest of Everest and the north face of the Eiger, that this is a man who is morbidly afraid of heights.

Fiennes continues to compete in UK based endurance events and has seen recent success in the Veteran categories of some Mountain marathon races. His training nowadays consists of regular two hour runs around Exmoor.

He’s also an accomplished author. If you’re looking for a REALLY good read, try ‘The Feathermen’ – it’ll keep you spellbound.

2 comments

  1. Sorry but I couldn’t find your contact address anywhere! Hope you moderate the comments ;)…

    I’ve been your reader for a bit now. About a month ago I happily launched my adventure blog as well – Extreemblog.com.

    (Extreemblog is a place where I publish my articles about widely defined extreme sports, adventure and travel. Moreover I’m personally a great fan of gliders and adventure travel. That’s why I want to write about what I am passionate about – I think it’s the same as you.)

    I want to share your blog’s link with my readers on my blogroll, because IMO things you write are really up-to-date and independant.

    I added your link in my blogroll at Extreemblog.com. I’ll appreciate if you take a look at my website, maybe share a thought what you like about it or what not. And if you think it has potential, please share my link in your blogroll in return.

    Cheers!

    Kuba
    Extreemblog.com


    • Thanks Kuba for your comments. Had a look at your site and it’s great. You’re doing better than us in that you have already established a website – we’re still stuck on the Blog only, but intend to get a website launched shortly – just need to find somebody to do it! When I’ve worked out how to do it I will add your link to our site.



Leave a Reply

