2009 Red Bull Air Racing World Championship program

February 5, 2009

We are pleased to bring you news of the schedule for the 2009 Red Bull Air Racing World Championship with a great video of the action, thrills and spills from the 2008 season.

  But first the World Championship Air Racing 2008 final rankings

1  H. Arch  AUT  61 points
2 P. Bonhomme  GBR 54 points
3 K. Chambliss  USA  46 points
4 M. Mangold  USA  44 points
5 P. Besenyei  HUN  34 points
6 S. Jones    GBR   33 points
7 N. Lamb  GBR   30 points
8 A. Maclean  ESP  21 points
9 N. Ivanoff   FRA  19 points
10 M. Goulian   USA  16 points
11 S. Rakhmanin  RUS  2 points
12 G. Dell   RSA  0 points
Here is all the action from the 2008 season, this compilation video is provided by Redbullairrace on YouTube – thanks – now watch these crazy men in their flying machines demonstrate why this sport is so extreme.

With more pilots, a more compact program and a new race format the 2009 season will go to six locations, 15 pilots will fight for seconds, points and the Red Bull Air Race World Championship title.

An overview of the upcoming season.

The fifth season in the history of the Red Bull Air Race World Championship will take place over six racing weekends. Already a tradition is the kick-off in Abu Dhabi, this year taking place on April 17 and 18. After that – also as in 2008 – it’s off to San Diego (May 9-10). On June 13 and 14 in Windsor, an auto manufacturing city on the United States’ border, Air Race pilots will conquer Canadian airspace for the first time. Following this are Budapest (August 19-20) and Porto (September 12-13), two well-known locations, before Barcelona celebrates its comeback in the racing calendar with the season finals on October 3 and 4. In 2006 one million spectators watched the Red Bull Air Race in the Catalonian seaport.

Boasting 15 pilots, the 2009 field is bigger than ever before. While two-time winner (Budapest 2006, Porto 2007) Steve Jones (GBR) ends his Red Bull Air Race career, four new rookies from four different continents will stir up the air. Alongside Matthias Dolderer (GER), Yoshihide Muroya (JPN) and Matt Hall (AUS), as the youngest Air Race pilot of all time 24-year-old Canadian Pete McLeod will try to snatch up as many WC points as possible from the established pilots surrounding title-defender Hannes Arch (AUT).

Something to look forward to on this grey and cold February day – oh come on spring – time to wake up!!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: